Pittsburgh Contemporary Writers Series

Presents

Eula Biss

Public Reading: Thursday, March 22, 8:30 pm,

Frick Fine Arts Auditorium.

Free and Open to the Public

also: Q&A, Thursday, March 22, 5-6 p.m. 501 CL

Eula Biss is the author of The Balloonists and Notes from No Man’s Land: American Essays. She holds a M.F.A. from the University of Iowa and teaches nonfiction writing at Northwestern University. Her work is currently supported by a Guggenheim Fellowship and a NEA Literature Fellowship, and has been recognized by a National Book Critics Circle Award. Her essays have recently appeared in The Best American Nonrequired Reading and The Best Creative Nonfiction as well as in The Believer, Fourth Genre, Third Coast, Denver Quarterly, Gulf Coast, and Harper’s.  She is currently at work on a book about metaphor in medicine.

For more information call 412-624-6508 or visit the PCWS blog: pghwriterseries.wordpress.com

Thanks to our cosponsor, The University Book Center

 

When I was young, I believed that the arc and swoop of telephone wires along the roadways was beautiful. I believed that the telephone poles, with their transformers catching the evening sun, were glorious. I believed my father when he said, “my dad could raise a pole by himself.” And I believed that the telephone itself was a miracle.

 

Now, I tell my sister, these poles, these wires, do not look the same to me. Nothing is innocent, my sister reminds me. But nothing, I would like to think, remains unrepentant.

 

One summer, heavy rains fell in Nebraska and some green telephone poles grew small leafy branches.

—from “Time and Distance Overcome”