Pittsburgh Contemporary Writers Series  


Myung Mi Kim &

Wayne Koestenbaum

Public Reading: Thursday, January 26, 8:30pm

Frick Fine Arts Auditorium

Reading will be followed by a conversation, moderated by Dawn Lundy Martin, about literary friendship

Free and Open to the Public

also: English Department Q&A, Friday, January 27, 12:00 p.m. 501 CL

Myung Mi Kim was born in Seoul, Korea, immigrated with her family to the United States at the age of nine and was raised in the Midwest. She earned a BA from Oberlin College, an MA from The Johns Hopkins University, and an MFA from the University of Iowa. Her collection of poems Under Flag (Kelsey St., 1991) won the Multicultural Publishers Exchange Award of Merit; subsequent collections include The Bounty (Chax Press, 1996), DURA (Sun & Moon, 1999), Spelt (with Susan Gevirtz) (a+bend press, 2000),Commons (University of California, 2002), River Antes (Atticus/Finch 2006), and Penury (Omnidawn, 2009). She is the subject of the book The Subject of Building Is a Process / Light Is an Element: essays and excursions for Myung Mi Kim (2008). She has taught at San Francisco State University and in the Poetics Program at SUNY Buffalo.

Born in 1958, Wayne Koestenbaum attended Harvard University and received an MA from Johns Hopkins University and a PhD from Princeton University. After being named co-winner of the 1989 Discovery/The Nation poetry contest, he published his first collection of poetry, Ode to Anna Moffo and Other Poems (Persea, 1990), which was chosen as one of The Village Voice Literary Supplement’s “Favorite Books of 1990.” He is the author of four books of poetry: Best Selling Jewish Porn Films (Turtle Point, 2006), Model Homes(BOA Editions, 2004); The Milk of Inquiry (Persea, 1999); and Rhapsodies of A Repeat Offender (Persea, 1994); five works of criticism:Jackie Under My Skin: Interpreting an Icon (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1995); The Queen’s Throat: Opera, Homosexuality and the Mystery of Desire (Poseidon, 1993); Double Talk: The Erotics of Male Literary Collaboration (Routledge, 1989); Cleavage: Essays on Sex, Stars, and Aesthetics (Ballantine Books, 2000); and Andy Warhol (Viking, 2001); a novel, Moira Orfei in Aigues-Mortes (Soft Skull, 2004); the libretto for an opera, Jackie O; and the mixed-genre works Hotel Theory (Soft Skull, 2007) and Humiliation (Picador, 2011). The Queeen’s Throat was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award and Koestenbaum received a Whiting Writer’s Award in 1994. He has taught painting at the Yale School of Art since 2003 and lives in New York City where he is a Distinguished Professor of English at the CUNY Graduate Center.

For more information call 412-624-6508 or visit the PCWS blog:pghwriterseries.wordpress.com

Thanks to our cosponsor, The University Book Center