Yesterday The PITT News published a brief interview with writer Lydia Davis.  The article discusses her views on authenticity in writing and what it means to be avant-garde. Davis is giving a reading as part of the PITT Contemporary Writers Series tonight, Thursday, April 7th @ 8:30 p.m. in Frick Fine Arts Auditorium on Pitt’s Campus. The event is free and open to the public. Please visit the following link to see the full interview!

http://pittnews.com/newsstory/author-talks-about-authenticity-and-being-avant-garde/

“You always start out writing in very private situations;. Especially when you’re a young writer, very few people care all that much what you do. And that’s actually a good thing, I think: You write to please yourself. No, I would feel embarrassed if a lot of people were using my work. I guess I’d rather everybody did their own thing, made their own invention.”  – Lydia Davis